Day 93: Strength Training Part 2

Day 93

Metabolic Surge: Strength/Recovery Phase, Day 8

Good day, Shredders!

Today was the last training day of my second round of Metabolic Surge.  After work and a quick meal, I drove off again to the city to do Strength Training for the upper body: chest (barbell bench press), back (deadlifts), shoulders (dumbbell overhead press), biceps (barbell curls), and triceps (close-grip barbell bench press).  This time, I didn’t set any personal bests, but got close on most of them and equalled on some.  I also noticed that the more I’ve been doing those exercises, the more I am noticing points in which I think my form can be improved, especially with bench presses (for example, I need to get the bar lower even when trying for heavier weights).  I think that means that I was getting too aggressive with my loading and feared pushing myself especially without a spotter.  I will be making one of my objectives for my next mission to be to master the proper form on the big lifts like squats, deadlifts, and bench press (and not be afraid to ask for a spot!)

Nutrition was according to plan, balanced meals with lots of fruits and and vegetables and some healthy fats thrown in.

The next two days are rest days.  I’ll be using those days to plan my next mission.

Eat clean, train hard, and expect success!

4 thoughts on “Day 93: Strength Training Part 2

  1. Hello Ron, I can’t wait to see what your new mission is all about… !! give us details as soon as you have them…!!

  2. Hey Ron,
    thanks for your welcome om my blog.
    I can see you have done a good job – it is interesting to see what you will come up with next.
    Jay…

  3. Thanks Bob! Hope to see you posting again in your blog.

    Celina and Jay, I’m researching now how to best go about my next mission, and also making sure that I have the resources (like a gym to work out in) in place. Within this weekend I hope to have a plan in place, and for sure, I’ll you’ll know about it first here!

Leave a comment