Day 721: Chinups first

Day 721

Today’s routine went like this:

  • Chinups
  • Narrow grip hang snatches
  • Romanian deadlifts
  • Two-point Dumbbell rows + twist
  • Kneeling reverse woodchops
  • Two-point planks

I went to the gym after work, and as I finished my warmups, I found that the squat cage was being used, and so I couldn’t start my session with the usual explosive exercise (snatches, cleans, and their variations).  Today then I opted then to start with chinups.  I have noticed before that usually the vertical pull exercise (chinups or pullups) came in as fourth exercise, and usually by then my muscles were already quite fatigued from the earlier exercises.  Since I did chinups first today, I almost completed the prescribed 4 sets of 8 chinups (I just had to do last two reps on the fourth set as negatives).

Doing chinups first did have an effect on the explosive exercise (narrow-grip hang snatches) as I felt just a little bit less power, but I was able to complete the exercise to my target weight anyway.  What a good feeling that was!

Leave a Reply

