Day 713: Rest and then shifting gears

Day 713

I am returning from a one-week break from training, as I was at the midpoint of the training program that I have been following (the push-pull general fitness program from Men’s Health Power Training by Robert Dos Remedios).  I also felt that it was the perfect time to rest to allow my wrist to recover and strengthen itself.

I am now in the third phase of the program, and this meant another change in the set/rep scheme for the exercises.  For the next twelve sessions (including this one), the first exercise (explosive exercise) will be 4X5 (it was 5X3 previously), the second to fourth exercises (lower-body hip/knee dominant, horizontal push/pull, and then vertical push/pull) are 4X8 (previous was 4X6), the 5th exercise (twist) is 4X10, and the 6th exercise (core stabilization) is 4 sets of 30 to 45 seconds.  These were the exercises I did today:

  • Clean pulls
  • Front squats
  • Dumbbell bench presses
  • Push presses
  • Woodchops
  • Planks

I had some concerns with doing front squats as I normally do these with my palms extended in the “clean” position, but I found that I didn’t feel much pain once I did a few warmup sets.  What was more scary for me though was on my third set as I unracked the bar from the squatting cage and got into position, I felt dizzy for a few seconds and had to concentrate hard to make sure I re-racked the weight properly.  I think I may have forgotten to breath properly and deeply enough to recover from the previous set!  Good thing I always use clamps on the bars so I didn’t panic as I guided the bar back to position.

Leave a Reply

