Day 682: Revisiting front squats

Day 682

This week brought a change in the set/rep schemes for my training sessions.  Whereas in the first 12 workouts, the first exercise (explosive lifts) was 4X5, today it was 5X3.  The 2nd to 4th exercises are now 4X6 instead of 4X10.  This means that I moved to heavier loading today compared to before.  Here were my exercises:

  • Clean pulls
  • Front squats
  • Dumbbell bench presses
  • Push presses
  • Woodchops
  • Planks

It’s been a bit since I did front squats, and I was able to do as much in the last set as I have ever attempted before (80kg).  One of the guys in the gym (who I think is a bodybuilder) commended me on my good form while doing those squats, and that really was encouraging.  I also felt that I was able to keep good form almost the whole way through, dipping as low as I can go without too much stress on my back as I usually had before.

Leave a Reply

