Day 673: Legs and split jerks

Day 673

Saturday was yet another overcast day in Lima, and my colleague was down with a headache, so it wasn’t a day for me to go around sightseeing. I trained at midday and did the following exercises:

  • Clean pulls
  • Back squats
  • Incline dumbbell presses
  • Split jerks
  • Swiss ball weighted twists
  • Planks elbow-to-knee

While I was doing my clean pulls, a man approached me and asked me something in Spanish.  When I replied that I don’t understand Spanish very well, he asked me in his limited English which sport I was playing, since he noticed my relatively unusual exercises, and he complimented me on my legs.  I answered that I didn’t do any competitive sport and was just doing it for strength, and thanked him for his compliment.

It’s been a while since I last did plain back squats, and I missed them!  I was doing 4X10 on that exercise, so I didn’t load up the bar to attempt a personal best weight.  I did however load it as much as I could without sacrificing form.  The earlier compliments I received certainly helped lift my spirits!

Also today was the first time for me to try split jerks.  This is where you start with the bar in front of you at shoulder level, and then you jerk the weight up simultaneously straightening the elbows and splitting the legs, one in leg in front and one at the back.  After I did my first set I realized that this exercise was tough!  Good thing I was doing it in a squatting cage, so I raised the safety bar enough so that it wouldn’t fall too far down in case I fell out of balance.  Thankfully, I was able to keep the bar overhead.  I look forward to doing more of those in the future!

Leave a Reply

