Day 666: Excuse me?

Day 666

Saturday, and it was another overcast day in Lima, as it is probably 6 days a week.  It wasn’t an ideal day to go around the city.  I woke up a little later than usual, had breakfast, wrote down my training plan in my notebook, and then headed off to the gym.  This time I had a new padlock, now with a key instead of a combination lock.

My session went like so:

  • Hang power cleans
  • Single-leg back extensions
  • Horizontal pullups
  • Side-to-side pullups
  • 1-2-3 throws
  • Dynamic planks

Though it was a Saturday morning, there were quite a lot of people in the gym.  At one point, I attempted to alternate between the horizontal pullups and the single-leg back extensions, using two equipment separated by a few meters and several other equipment.  I was waiting for a pair of young men to finish their set of overhead presses so that I would not be in their way when I did the back extensions right beside them.  Suddenly an older, perfectly attired woman walked straight onto the back extension apparatus to use it, totally ignoring me and the men!  Oh well, there goes my plan.  I wanted to protest, but I didn’t know how to do so politely in Spanish.  It just goes to show that money can’t buy you manners.

Leave a Reply

