Day 574: Back from sightseeing

Day 574

My weekend trip to see Kraków was a great experience.  The overnight train ride was quite comfortable and I was able to get a good night’s sleep both ways.  My first day there with my colleagues (Saturday) we went on two separate tours one after the other.  First was to the Auschwitz and Birkenau memorials, showing the horrors that happened there during the Second World war.  It was a very very sobering experience.  After that it was straight to the salt mines at Wieliczka, which had many exhibits deep underground showing famous Polish people all carved out of rock salt.  It also showed the industriousness and ingenuity of the people who worked in the mines.  We checked into a great hostel for the night, and there we got to have a free(!) Polish dinner and enjoy an old Polish movie in the lounge area.

However, on my second day, I woke up to find my jacket has been stolen from the rack where I had hanged it for the night.  This was terribly inconvenient as we had planned to walk around Kraków’s Old Town the whole day, and that day it was freezing cold!  Luckily, the hostel where we stayed in was right across a big shopping mall so it was not too difficult to find a replacement jacket (though it did cost me quite a bit).  However, inside my jacket was also a souvenir coin from the salt mines.  That one cannot be easily replaced.  Though we started our walkabout much later than planned, we did get to see quite a bit of the Old Town, with its well-preserved buildings and historic monuments, as well as Wawel Castle and the Dragon by the Wisła (Vistula) River.  Late that evening we boarded the overnight train back to Gdynia, ending our (not-long-enough) holiday in Kraków.

I took a day off from training the day we arrived, as I still had to rest to recover from all the walking that we did!  When I went back to the gym on Tuesday, this is what I did:

  1. Hang dumbbell snatches (4X3)
  2. Step ups (10, 8, 8, 6)
  3. Close-grip bench presses (10, 8, 8, 6)
  4. Supported dumbbell push presses (10, 8, 8, 6)
  5. Plank walkups (4X30s)
  6. Windshield wipers (4X10)

I’m posting this one day late, however, as I developed a headache just as I was preparing to blog for the night.

Leave a Reply

