Day 566: Clean pulls

Day 566

Today the weather hovered around 0 to 2 °C during the daytime and a little bit cooler as evening fell, so it was quite refreshing and comfortable to walk out at night toward the gym.

Today’s training was as follows:

  1. Barbell clean pulls (4X3)
  2. Good mornings (10, 8, 8, 6)
  3. Single-arm cable rows (10, 8, 8, 6)
  4. Wide-grip pullups (10, 8, 8, 6)
  5. Horizontal cable parallel rotations (4X10)
  6. Side planks + Reaches (30s, 35s, 40s, 45s)

With the barbell clean pulls, I decided not to go for maximum load but instead focus on getting the movement right.  I realized that I have not been doing a proper pull especially if I try to do it with very heavy weights.  So after some build-up sets, I got to a heavy weight and focused on driving my feet into the ground and pushing my hips forward while keeping the bar quite closed to my legs.  I found that this allowed me to pull with a smooth movement without straining my back as much as I have been doing during my past sessions.

The next two exercises went to plan, where I was able to add some weight relative to my last training session.  That is until the wide-grip pullups.  I was able to do the first set of 10, but could not yet complete the other sets after around a minute of rest in between, falling short by a few reps.  I guess I do not recover that quickly with pullups, especially after doing several pull exercises beforehand.

Eat right, train hard, and expect success!

Leave a Reply

