Day 562: Deep in snow

Day 562

It was a trudge through thick fresh snow as I walked my way to the gym tonight.  It has been snowing here in northern Poland for two days straight, and by now all the pedestrian walkways are covered in snow, in some areas around where I am staying, up to mid-calf.  It was still snowing quite heavily as I walked with my gym bag.  Remarkably, after almost two and a half weeks here in Poland, this is the first time the thermometer has hit 0 °C outside.

Today was a pull workout consisting of the following:

  1. Barbell hang cleans (4X3)
  2. Single-leg back extensions (10/8/8/6)
  3. Horizontal pullups(10/8/8/6)
  4. Side-to-side pullups(10/8/8/6)
  5. Medicine ball 1-2-3-throws (4X10)
  6. Dynamic planks (4X30-45s)

I did not push to get a PB on the hang cleans today, but instead tried to focus on the proper catch.  I feel that my catch could be a lot better, especially as I clean heavier weights.  I tend to either catch it too high and the knurled center part of the bar scrapes my neck, or a bit too low that my hands have to work to roll the bar down to the crook of my shoulder and arm.  This session allowed me to experiment with my technique.

For the side-to-side pullups, it is still a challenge for me to do the 3rd and 4th sets to completion, but I just tried to do the best I could.  I also could not find any medicine balls at the gym (they’re probably hidden away in the group exercise room where the foam rollers are, so I could not get to either), so I just used a small weight plate and held on to it as I tried to “throw” it on the 4th count.  I know how much damage those plates can do if I let them fly!

By this time, I am really aching to start another body transformation mission; I just have to plan it out well.  It’s really difficult to do this on the road when I am staying in a hotel, so hopefully my next work project will be a bit more conducive to fitness missions.

Leave a Reply

