Day 542: Return to Bulgarian Split Squats

Day 542

Why is it that exercises attributed to Eastern Europeans are almost always hard? Take for example, Russian Twists, Romanian Deadlifts, and especially Bulgarian split squats (BSS). I had been doing regular split squats for the past few weeks and it’s been a long time since I went Bulgarian. Today I remembered how difficult those could be! The key difference for today with my BSS was that I used an Olympic bar instead of two dumbbells, so the load was much higher up my body, requiring much better overall coordination.

My exercises today were as follows:

  • Hang jump shrugs (4X3)
  • Bulgarian split squats (10, 8, 8, 6)
  • Reverse-grip bench presses (10, 8, 8, 6)
  • Dumbbell push presses (10, 8, 8, 6)
  • Corkscrews (4X10)
  • Planks (30s, 35s, 40s, 45s)

Tomorrow would be my last training day before I set off on another business trip, this time to (currently) freezing cold Gdynia (near Gdansk) in Poland. This would be my first time to be somewhere where it’s the middle of winter, and it would also probably be the first time I’ll experience snow. This season in the Philippines we’ve been averaging 23 to 30 degrees Celsius; in Gdynia it’s been -10 to -2 degrees Celsius. I’m trying my best to plan my travelling clothes properly as there’s only so much I can fit into the 20kg luggage allowance and 7kg hand luggage allowance. I hope I am able to bring enough cold weather gear as it will be a big shock to my system.

Leave a Reply

