Day 236: Driving through the bush

Day 236

I woke up a bit later than usual today, as I wanted to catch up on my sleep before my long drive.  Today was the start of a long weekend for me; my project partner is on holiday and there was not much work left to do without him, so I was given the day off.

After having my usual breakfast and preparing a few protein pancakes for the road (with some fruit), I packed my bags and drove off, north towards the Central Flinders Ranges, which is the largest mountain range in South Australia.  This is almost Outback country.  After a few stops along the way to have my planned meals (every three hours), pick up tourist information brochures, and a few picture opportunities, I am spending the night in a little town called Hawker.  There’s no internet provided in the motel, but fortunately I have been provided with a mobile broadband access dongle, and it works here!

Funny thing was, after driving hours and hours through mostly flat wilderness, I didn’t see a single kangaroo or wallaby during the day, but as darkness fell, I saw one every few kilometres crossing the road!  Tomorrow, I’ll plan my driving better so that I don’t drive around in the dark.

Enjoy your weekends!

accountability-d236-m3-d40

Day 263 - Front Day 236 - Back Day 236 - Side
2 thoughts on “Day 236: Driving through the bush

    • Hi Craig,

      There are several versions on the internet. For yesterday I mixed 1/2 cup whole rolled oats (can be quick oats too), 1/4 cup gluten-free pancake mix, 2 whole eggs, 3 scoops protein powder, and one banana (preferably very ripe ones), mixed with about a half cup of milk. That got me about 5 pancakes. You’ll want to experiment with the ratios and add/subtract things to your taste. I’ve seen recipes without pancake mix; I do that too when it’s not available, but I find it’s “fluffier” with at least some pancake mix.

      Cheers,
      Ron

Leave a Reply

