Day 235: Weight training can almost be HIIT

Day 235

I moved my training one day early today, as I have plans to travel out to regional South Australia tomorrow.  After doing my standard foam rolling and dynamic stretches, I did a lower-body focused workout today using a 3X12 format, with front squats alternating with step ups with just 45 seconds in between.  This was followed by single-leg hip extension + leg curl on a swiss ball alternating with cable woodchops, 3X10 with 30 seconds in between.  The workout finishes off with side planks for 30 seconds each side.  The workout was really intense, with hardly enough time to catch my breath especially in the first exercise pair, so much so that as the third sets of exercises came due, I was starting to dread having to have a go at the exercises again.  I got through it though!

Nutrition was no problem at all. Today, one of the guys in the office noted that every time he passed by, he saw me eating! Perhaps it’s because I eat two of my three meals at my desk while I carried on working, and it sometimes takes me up to 30-40 minutes to finish.

However, previous night’s sleep could have been longer!  I really need to get this particular aspect in order.  Tonight’s sleep will be a bit longer as I’ll need to have energy for the long drive tomorrow.  I’m not sure yet if I’ll have internet access while away (I’ll be staying at least one night), but if I do have access, I’ll try to post updates.

Eat right, train hard, and expect success!

accountability-d235-m3-d39

Day 235 - Front Day 235 - Back Day 235 - Side
2 thoughts on “Day 235: Weight training can almost be HIIT

  1. I know what you mean Ron by the weight training being like HIIT. I have started a resistance training program and by doing super sets only made up of two exercises straight after the other with no break really makes it tough. I had no idea how much I relied on the short break in between sets to recover. Whilst it is tough it feels bloody great once you have completed it though so I’ll definately continue.

    I have added your blog to my blog roll as it is inspiring to see someone else keeping up the blog for such a long time. There are only a few other than Adam who have really kept it up for a long time and I hope to be another, so keep up the great work as I will be reading your blogs with great interest.

    • Hi Giarc,

      Good to hear from you, and welcome to my blog! Good to know that my effort to share my experience is helping to inspire other people. I’ll be checking on your progress, so keep at it!

      Ron

Leave a Reply

