Day 169: Breakthroughs

Day 169

I was very happy with my evening workout today.  After another pretty humid day spent either sleeping, eating, checking my work mail and browsing the web, I was happy to go to the gym again.  As before, I did my soft-tissue work (foam rolling/tennis ball rolling) at home before proceeding to the gym.  I really needed that as I was still aching in many places.

Once at the gym, I did my mobility warmups, and then did some warmup squat sets at progressively heavier weights.  Still following the StrongLifts 5X5 program, I was able to add another 2.5kg to my squat, so today I was able to do 5 sets of 5 at 112.5kg.  At this weight, it is now very difficult for me to squat “ass-to-grass”, but I still made sure that I got significantly lower than thighs parallel to the ground.  And this time, I was able to complete my sets without any aid from my spotter!

Next was barbell overhead presses at 47.5kg; this was the weight at which I stalled before.  This time, after doing my warmup sets, I was able to complete the five sets of five without any issue.  Before my fifth set, I told myself that it’s all in the mind; by the time I completed it, the fifth set almost seemed a bit easy!

Then it was deadlifts at 130kg, the weight at which I stalled before.  Again, I did warmup sets before attempting my 1 set of 5 reps.  I was able to complete the set with no problem!

Finally, three sets of pullups to failure.  It was only on this exercise that I was not able to add to my total, but I still matched my previous best over three sets (32).

I completed my workout by doing a new level of exercises from the Flatten Your Abs program, now at level 6.

Nutrition was quite good today, on schedule except for my last meal.  This was because my workouts have been getting quite long now because of the necessary rest between the sets of heavy lifting.  I wasn’t averse to having a few squares of chocolate at dinner, after completing a successful workout.

Eat right, train hard, and expect success!

accountability-d169-m2-d71

Day 169 - Front Day 169 - Back Day 169 - Side
2 thoughts on “Day 169: Breakthroughs

  1. Hi Ron, hey! now you’re training very intense!! great job, those are really heavy weights! keep it up, you’re gonna succeed BIG in this mission…

  2. Thanks for your encouragement, Celina! You know, I think I’m getting addicted to lifting heavy! I know my form on the deadlifts especially can be improved (also my squats, I think), so I’m reading up a lot on them.

Leave a Reply

