Day 163: Recovery work

Day 163

Normally, I would have done some cardio training today (either HIIT or steady state), but I figured I needed to give my legs some rest and now plan to scale back my cardio to once or twice a week.  Instead, I did soft-tissue work/foam rolling to help alleviate the aches and pains that have been accumulating on my body from the heavy strength training I have been doing.  For these, I have been following the foam rolling/tennis ball exercises listed in Eric Cressey’s Maximum Strength, which arrived together with my copy of Nate Green’s Built for Show.

Sleep, on the other hand, has been good!  I’ve been able to get almost 8 hours of sleep each night for the past few days (now that I am on a break from work), so I think it will help with my recovery.  Sometimes I do some power naps (15 to 30 minutes) in the afternoon when I feel particularly tired.  The unseasonally humid weather here in Manila is not helping with bringing energy levels up nor giving a sense that Christmas is near.

I spent a good part of the day going to two different stores for grocery shopping.  I first went in the morning after breakfast, as the queues in the morning are not as mad as they are in the afternoons, plus some items like good cuts of meat run out early.  I’ve never made roast pork before, but I plan to make one for tomorrow night’s Christmas midnight dinner (Noche Buena), based on a recipe I found in Jamie Oliver’s Ministry of Food.  I’ll also make a vanilla-lemon flan for dessert.  My mom will be making spaghetti bolognese based on her own secret recipe, plus a fruit salad.  Spaghetti has always been one of my favorite dishes at family celebrations, and I often ate too much before.  This time, I bought some whole-wheat spaghetti to minimize the damage!  Tomorrow will be a long day, preparing gifts and food.  I plan to squeeze in my strength training sometime in the afternoon.

Eat right, train hard, and expect success!

accountability-d163-m2-d65

Day 163 - Front Day 163 - Back Day 163 - Side
One thought on “Day 163: Recovery work

  1. Hi Ron,
    Merry Christmas and know you´ll enjoy all those wonderful foods in Noche Buena. I just finished doing a lot like you getting things ready! Tell your mother how much you love her spagetti….she´ll love hearing it from you.
    Feliz Navidad!
    Lynda

Leave a Reply

