Day 157: Chased by dogs

Day 157

Today I just did 15 minutes of HIIT cardio in the form of running around my neighbourhood. Unlike my two previous runs since coming back from my overseas trip, this time, I encountered dog danger again. As you may know from some of my previous posts on the dangers of running around suburban Manila streets, most dogs here are allowed to roam freely on the streets by their owners. That poses a danger in addition to not having sidewalks/footpaths to jog on and avoiding vehicular traffic on the roads.

On one particular interval when I felt good enough to really push hard, I was passing through a fairly dark section of road. Suddenly, I heard dogs barking and out of the corner of my eye, saw that two dogs had started to run after me. I stopped as quickly as I can and turned towards the dogs. The larger of the two dogs stopped, and funnily, the smaller dog, who was right behind the other dog, ran and bumped into the first dog. That got the two dogs into a dogfight, and gave me the opportunity to speed away again!

Nutrition was quite good today. As it was a non-lifting day, I planned and ate somewhat fewer calories than I do on lifting days.

I originally planned to have my third lifting session for the week for tomorrow (Thursday), but I’ll have to move it to either Friday morning (before work if I can squeeze it in without sacrificing sleep) or Saturday. This is because I am meeting with my friends from university (whom I see basically just once a year over Christmas) tomorrow evening after work, and then on Friday I go out to dinner with my officemates to a huge mall which I have not had the time to visit in the two years it’s been open (I’m the only one in the office who hasn’t been there!) This morning too, I received a surprise call from another one of my close friends in uni. He’s already based in California, but is back here with his wife for two weeks. Last time I saw hime was more than a year and a half ago (at his wedding). He’s asked me to come to his son’s baptism on Saturday, though I don’t know yet what time. Looks like a pretty busy weekend for me, so I have to watch out and eat as healthy as possible. The extra days between lifting should also let my legs get more recovery time and let me get over my cold so that I can lift my best.

Eat right, train hard, and expect success!

accountability-d157-m2-d59

Day 157 - Front Day 157 - Back Day 157 - Side
6 thoughts on “Day 157: Chased by dogs

  1. Hahaha.. I was really laughing out loud while reading your dog story… really funny… I could picture the moment inside my head and had a fun time reading!… I hope you enjoy those visits from your friends Ron, I recover well for your next training session!

  2. yes watch those crazy aso. I am amazed at your progress. As I type this am watching wowowee. Keep up the good work and maligayang pasko.

    • Welcome to my blog, Jay! The past few mornings have been relatively cool (18 to 19 °C), just right to enjoy simbang gabi if I ever get to attend even one this season.

      Mele Kalikimaka!

Leave a Reply

