Day 134: Take 2 on the Overhead Press

Day 134

I was still feeling a bit tired when I woke up as I wasn’t able to go to bed as early as I wanted (and needed).  Still, throughout the day I was looking forward to the evening at the gym, when I make another attempt to do 5X5 with 45 kg on the barbell overhead press.  I played the audio interview between Tom Venuto and Pete Siegel again on the way to and from work, and on the way to the gym, so I was pretty psyched up by the time I got there.

First off was 5X5 of squats with 87.5kg, which is already 2.5kg more than what I used to do on a good day before I started this blog.  That was usually for 3 sets of 8, with thighs never going below parallel to the ground.  I was able to complete the exercise today, with quite a bit of effort especially in the last two sets.  With the squats today, I was feeling even the muscles of my inner thigh get stressed, which I didn’t think before as contributors to the exercise.  I think since I have been squatting low, I have been activating muscles which I haven’t been using much before.

That set me up for the next exercise of barbell OH press.  Like last time, I was able to push through to the fourth set with effort.  On the fifth set, I tried to push even harder, but alas, was not able to complete the last rep of the fifth set!  Of course I was quite disappointed.  I have one more try at this weight before I deload (go back to a slightly lower weight to build strength), and next time (on Friday Day 138), I’ll make sure I have enough sleep the night before!

The next two exercises were deadlift (1X5 with 100kg) and chinups.  The deadlifts were short, sweet, and successful.  I really have to get used to doing them without gloves!  Despite doing only one set, I was feeling a little bit woozy after doing it, which I sometimes feel when I push hard on the big lifts like squats and deadlifts.  With the chinups, I was able to do 16 reps on the first set (my current max), but was able to add another 3 reps to my total over three sets (total of 32).

After the chinups, I then did my core training based on Level 5 of the Flatten Your Abs program.

Nutrition was according to plan today save for two extra biscuits at work, as I did feel a bit hungry at times, even though I was following a higher-calorie plan for today.  It might have something to do with my insufficient sleep, or my body telling me to prepare some energy for the upcoming workout.

Gotta go to bed now and get my sleep in order. I used to be satisfied with six hours of sleep, but I don’t think that is going to cut it anymore if I want to get big and strong.

Eat clean, train hard, and expect success!

accountability-d134-m2-d36

Day 134 - Front Day 134 - Back Day 134 - Side
6 thoughts on “Day 134: Take 2 on the Overhead Press

  1. Congratulations on the chin ups!! And … wow.. just two reps… I’m sure you’re gonna be able to do them next time… I really really don’t like presses… (I’ve never been good at them). So.. also, I really really admire your dedication on squats and doing the full movement…!! keep it up Ron!

  2. Your squats sound awesome and going low will hit every muscle in your body. When you get past parallel your hammies and glutes are heavily involved. Good stuff!!

  3. Hi Celina, it wasn’t just two reps, it was four reps (on the 5th set), then I couldn’t get past halfway on the fifth rep. I myself see presses as an area of improvement for me. They say if you don’t like an exercise, that means you suck at it and need to do it more! hehe

    Squats, on the other hand, has always been one of my favourites, and I like it even better now that I’m getting better at it. 🙂

  4. Hey Mike, yup, I’m feeling the squats in a lot more muscles now by squatting low. It seems you like squats too, basing on how your legs appear!

Leave a Reply

