Day 127: Systematically Breaking Down Barriers

Day 127

I woke up feeling refreshed, ready to return to the gym for a new week of strength training! My legs felt fresh again after getting rest yesterday, so after warming up with some hurdle mobility drills, I set up my squat for 80kg (up 2.5kg from previous). This was already about the weight I was doing regularly before Day 0, usually for 3 sets of 6 to 8. However, with those sets, I wasn’t going very low, just thighs parallel to the ground. This time, however, I was able to do 5 sets of 5 reps as low as I can go, and I felt I still had some more left in the tank.

After squats, it was barbell bench presses (57.5kg) and hang cleans (42.5kg), both up 2.5kg. Finally, 3 sets of pushups to failure. After reading about Danny’s breaking of his personal 1-set pushup record the other day, I felt that I could push harder this time. I was able to break my own record of 54 and got to 56!  The funny thing was, I normally aim for 1 more pushup on each set compared to the last pushup workout, so I was just aiming for 54 (last time was 53).  Usually, the last 10 reps are the hardest and by then my form starts to get worse.  At exactly 54 reps I felt I could not do any more and stopped at the top part of the movement, but I then just thought about squeezing two more reps.  Those reps were not very pretty, but I managed to squeak them out.  The next two sets were also good so I was able to increase my 3-set total from 104 to 109.  I think that shows that if you stretch yourself a little bit further on each workout, you may be able to surprise yourself!

I think that’s the beauty of the Stronglifts 5X5 system, where you aim to improve using little manageable increments every workout.  I am really looking forward to breaking my strength limits, be they physical or psychological.  I’m closing in on my previous limits on many of the exercises on the program, so the next few weeks should be exciting.

After 5X5 training, I moved up to Level 5 of Flatten Your Abs training, which was a welcome change after doing Level 4 for more than 1 month.

Nutrition today was all according to plan.

Eat clean, train hard, and expect success!

accountability-d127-m2-d29

Day 127 - Front Day 127 - Back Day 127 - Side
5 thoughts on “Day 127: Systematically Breaking Down Barriers

Leave a Reply

