Day 123: Meal “Exceptions” and Meal Frequency

Day 123

As soon as I got back from work, I changed and drove to the beach to do my 20 minutes of HIIT running (using the beachside jogging path).  I feel I am getting back to the higher level of HIIT I was doing while I was on Metabolic Surge, so I have been able to push a bit harder today compared to the last time.

As it’s a Thursday, I had planned to have my last meal of the day outside at the mall instead of cooking one for myself.  This helps me break the monotony of eating the same foods throughout most of the week so that I am more likely to stick to the healthy eating plan.  Getting a good HIIT session made me less hesitant to have my 1st meal exception for the week, a carrot cake for dessert together with meal #6, which consisted of grilled chicken, stir-fry beef, and fried rice.  As I have mentioned before, I am planning in 2 “exception” meals out 40 to 42 meals a week, with 2 extra exceptions set aside as contingency, making for 90% or better compliance to a clean and healthy meal plan.

Yesterday, Victor Baranov asked via a comment why I eat 5 (often 6) times a day, and why I note a 30-minute delay in having my meals. I answered that as I have read and gathered from many sources, including Tom Venuto’s Burn the Fat, Feed the Muscle, eating often helps keep the body’s metabolic furnace burning and also keeps energy levels constant throughout the day. On a muscle gain program, this also helps ensure that there is enough protein available in the bloodstream for the body to repair and build itself, as protein which is not used is not stored by the body, unlike carbs and fats.

Eat clean, train hard, and expect success!

accountability-d123-m2-d25

Day 123 - Front Day 123 - Back Day 123 - Side
2 thoughts on “Day 123: Meal “Exceptions” and Meal Frequency

Leave a Reply

