Day 105: Reviewing and Adjusting

Day 105

Good day, Shredders!

My training today was simply about 30 minutes of steady-state cardio, which was jogging to the beach, taking a few snaps, then running back!  I also took some snaps of the beautiful flowers around (many roses here in South Australia) and some birds which I am not familiar with.  Nutrition was ok, normal food within my calorie limits.

This morning I measured my weight and my skinfolds, and found that compared to last week, I had lost some lean mass (about 0.7 kg) but kept my bodyfat about the same (actually, down 0.1 kg).  This of course is not what I want; I need to gain lean mass and keep my bodyfat the same (or even lower it).  Is this week a failure then? No!  This just means that what I did this past week brought me to this state.

I think what happened is that my body adjusted to the lower training demand I asked of it.  If you recall, I am following StrongLifts 5X5 from the beginning, using 20kg weights on the exercises, which really does not demand much of my muscles.  I do know that I will be increasing the weights with each training session, so I should be back to more demanding workouts in a few weeks time.  Meanwhile, I will be increasing the weight increments by a bigger amounts to get me there faster.  If I find that my exercise form starts to waver, I will move back to smaller increments.

Don’t forget to review your progress regularly, and then adjust your training and nutrition according to your feedback.

Eat clean, train hard, expect success!

One thought on “Day 105: Reviewing and Adjusting

Leave a Reply

