Day 98: Mission 2 Statement

Day 98

Good day, Shredders!  Or should I say, Guten Tag!

It was quite a busy day for me.  After hearing mass in the morning, I drove about 46km to a little town east of Adelaide called Hahndorf, in an area called Adelaide Hills.  It happens to be the oldest German-settled town in Australia, and still retains many of its original buildings, many of which have been converted into shops and cafes for the tourists who flock there.

One of the preserved buildings in Hahndorf, SA

One of the preserved buildings in Hahndorf, SA

It was a nice day out for many people, but I found the place a bit too touristy.  Unfortunately, the weather up in the hills was chilly and cloudy, whereas down in the city (and near the coast where I stay), it was sunny and hot, so I didn’t bring my sweater!  I also couldn’t find a nice place to get my picture taken, so a group of sheep serves as my avatar for now, until such time I can visit the place again.

Lost sheep in Hahndorf

Lost sheep in Hahndorf

Upon returning, I decided upon my goals for mission 2.  I aim to:

  • Relearn proper form and gain strength on the big compound lifts (squat, deadlift, bench press, power clean, and pullup)
  • By focusing on strength, I also aim to gain at least 3 kg of lean muscle
  • Keep my bodyfat controlled, at or below 8%

I will be starting by using the Stronglifts 5X5 Strength Program, where the primary aim is to gain strength on the big lifts using increasing resistance on each workout, using a 5 sets of 5 reps protocol on each exercise.  On the nutrition side, I will be following Tom Venuto’s Burn The Fat, Feed The Muscle plan, using a caloric intake 10% above my maintenance level.  It will be my first time to focus on gaining muscle, so if I follow Tom’s recommendation of targetting half a pound (about 0.25kg) of lean muscle gain a week, then 12 weeks should give me about 3 kg of lean muscle.  Of course, I will be adjusting my training and nutrition according to the results I get.

I’m still working out the details, but I’ll be starting the mission tomorrow!  I’ll also post my starting stats on tomorrow’s post.

Eat clean, train hard, and expect success!

2 thoughts on “Day 98: Mission 2 Statement

  1. Hallo Ron,

    what the heck did the Germany do in Oz? ;-)….

    Good luck with your next mission, I am convinced that you will reach your mission with your discipline and determination.

    Juli

  2. Juli,

    This is what I learned… South Australia happened to be the one state in Australia which was created as a free (not convict) settlement where freedom of religion was guaranteed. Though most of the early immigrants were British, Hahndorf was settled by a group of Lutherans escaping persecution. The Germans brought with them vines which started the wine industry in Australia, and now more than half of Australian wines are produced in South Australia.

    Thanks for your support! Keep me focused!

    Ron

Leave a Reply

