Day 66: Burning My Legs

Day 66 of 84

Metabolic Surge: Round 2, Phase 1, Day 5

Buenos dias, Shredders!

First of all, welcome to the new Shredders, Angie, Jessie, and Doreen.  Stay strong and focused, and you will get to your goals!

After a good night’s sleep following last night’s workout, I am nearly back to full power.  My body clock has nearly adjusted to the time difference (2 hours ahead), so I was able to wake up with less willpower needed compared to the previous days.

After a long day at work, when we finally went live with the first component of the computer system I’m working on at the client site, I passed by the grocery store for some stuff to prepare for the no-protein day (two days from now) and the low-fat days which follow.  Then it was off to the gym for me.  I experimented with a more “scenic” route to the gym, which is along the river (since I moved to a riverside apartment yesterday).  It passed by a marina and some luxury apartments.  Unfortunately, the route was also longer (I had to go around the entire apartment complex to get to the gym), so I was more than a few minutes later than planned to the gym!

Fortunately, my planned workout today was much shorter, consisting of just Lactic Acid Training for shoulders, triceps, quads/glutes, and hamstrings.  Like yesterday, it was a light-heavy combination for each body part.  As the set/rep scheme since I restarted Metabolic Surge remains the same, I have to increase the resistance to force my body to adapt and grow.  I was able to add significant weight on all of the exercises compared to before, so I am very satisfied!  I especially enjoyed burning my quads and hamstrings, via the leg extension + squat and leg curl + stiff legged deadlift combinations.  Also, compared to the previous cycle, I am able to stick with the timings (especially the rest periods) much better than before.

Today’s nutrition was still low-carb, so I focused on lots of veggies (both steamed and fresh salads), eggs (mostly whites), chicken breasts, steamed fish, and finally a beef blade steak after the workout!  I have to set aside the rest of the steak for the next week though as I’ll be back to low-fat starting tomorrow.

Keep focused on your goals, eat clean, train hard, and expect success!

2 thoughts on “Day 66: Burning My Legs

  1. I’ve done the same workout today, but for me it was the first time ever. Especially the leg extension did its part! It’s like there are three levels of burn. The usual burn, the burn that makes you want to stop, and if you don’t, the burn that really gets hot 🙂

Leave a Reply

