Day 55: Dog Danger

Day 55 of 84

Metabolic Surge: Round 1, Phase 2, Day 1

Today’s nutrition called for protein only, keeping fat and carbs as low as possible.  I stuck with egg whites, grilled chicken breasts, and grilled/steamed fish.  I’ve been through this day before, but it still feels odd to eat just protein without anything on the side, but I know that this is only for one day

In the evening, I went to the grocery for fresh fruit, in preparation for the no-protein day tomorrow.  Now, this is the first time I’m doing a fruit day when I am not living by myself, so I bought extra to share with the family.  They started eating some of the fruit after dinner, and I had to restrain myself from eating the delicious-looking fruit!  I just told myself (and my family) that I’m holding off since all I’m having tomorrow is fruit — they must have thought I might have gone slightly mad.  At least they get to share…

In the afternoon, I did my HIIT run using near-maximal intervals (20s run, 5s walk) through the streets of our subdivision.  This time, as my training session was longer this time (15 minutes training proper compared to 8 the other day), I took a longer route which took me through less busy streets.  Near the end of my session, I was passing by a local gym (which I used to go to before) and peeked while I was running past.  I didn’t realize that on the other side, a dog was barking and started to run after me!  Good thing there were people outside the gym who alerted me to it.  I slowed down, turn around slightly, and shouted to the dog, which promptly stopped and turned away.   Danger averted, I carried on and finished my session.  Maybe next time I’ll carry a light stick with me.

Running in the afternoon also made me realize it’s harder to maintain a quick pace when it’s so humid!  It also takes a lot longer for my sweat to dry after running compared to when I was in Brisbane.  Oh well, anywhere there are challenges; at least there’s no way for me to freeze while running here, even in the early morning.

Focus on your goals, eat clean, train hard, and expect success!

Leave a Reply

