Day 53: HIIT Challenges

Day 53 of 84

Metabolic Surge: Round 1, Phase 1, Day 4

Hola, Shredders!

I woke up early today to do my HIIT run, using maximal intervals (30s all-out run, 30s walk per interval).  I was supposed to do 8 work intervals, but decided to add 2 more at the end.  It was my first HIIT session since I went back home to Manila, and it was quite different from my runs in Brisbane.  Where I live, there is no nearby jogging track, no leafy green parks to do my runs.  There are also no sidewalks in most places, so those who wish to run have the following choices:

  1. Go to the gym and run on a treadmill (not an option for many people)
  2. Run around the big parking lot at the shopping mall (where my gym is incidentally), or
  3. Run on the road

Since the mall is too far away to go to for a short HIIT session, I decided to go with plan C.

The warmup going away from my house was not bad (since we are away from the main roads), but as soon as I started running, I had to navigate my way through some cars, tricycles, bicycles, pedestrians, and the odd dog (there are no laws requiring dogs to be kept on a leash here, so I had to watch out if the dog might run after me!)  It wasn’t bad during my rest intervals, but a bit tricky when I was running at full speed!  That meant that on some work intervals, I had to slow down a bit and then regain my speed after passing danger.  That was the reason why I added 2 more work intervals.

As soon as I got home sweating profusely at just before 7 in the morning, I decided to take my daily pics, which you see below.

Food was no problem.  I again brought my meals with me to the office, and during lunch time found a combination of meat and vegetables.  The food server was a bit surprised when I told him that I didn’t want any rice, but now, it’s no surprise to me!

Later in the afternoon, I was able to talk my boss (the owner of the company) into getting both a microwave oven and a refrigerator for our pantry, which may be available in a few weeks.  That will make it easier for me and my officemates to bring our own food to the office.  However, he did later ask me and his direct reports to join him for a beer tomorrow Friday after work.  I know that I’m supposed to avoid alcohol while on a fat-loss program (I only drink rarely, on social occasions, and I haven’t had a drop since I began this mission).  I’ll limit myself to one bottle if I cannot bail out.  A beer for a microwave oven and refrigerator sounds like a fair deal to me.

In the evening, I went to the gym for Lactic Acid Training, hitting chest, back, biceps, and calves.  Wow, that felt great!  Afterwards, I was seeing veins I had not seen before!  Can’t wait for the next session tomorrow.

Train hard and expect success!

6 thoughts on “Day 53: HIIT Challenges

  1. Yup, agree with Mark absolutely. Especially in your sides.

    I pictured you for a moment doing your HIIT between the traffic in Manila, between cars, people staring at you, dogs barking, mopeds, etc.

  2. Pingback: Day 157: Chased by dogs « My Transformation

Leave a Reply

