Day 52: Back in the office

Day 52 of 84

Metabolic Surge: Round 1, Phase 1, Day 3

I went to the office for the first time today since I returned to Manila.  Just as in Brisbane, I brought along three of my planned meals with me in lunch boxes, all of them low-carb.  I also brought a low-carb protein bar in case of emergency.  As we start work here a bit later in the day compared to when I was in Brisbane, I tried to gauge if I needed to adjust the timing of my meals.  If I were to do our usual office hours, I would have to eat four meals on the road instead of three.  I do have the option of being more flexible with my office hours, so I might go a bit earlier, or just bring along a smaller, more portable fourth meal.

We had two new employees come in on Monday, and being in a small company, it would have been rude not to join them for lunch.  I was able to find a suitable meal (eggplant omelette) at the place we went to, but my officemates did notice that I did not eat any rice with my meal.  I just told them that I was following a low-carb meal plan this week, and as they already knew that I worked out regularly, they just left it at that.  Besides lunch, I stuck with my packed meals at my planned times; I was also glad that my food was okay even without a fridge and microwave oven in the office.  Dinner was no problem as I just ate the protein and swapped the rice for some veggies.

It’s a rest day on the Metabolic Surge program, but I felt that I needed to do some steady-state cardio.  According to Tom Venuto, doing steady-state cardio enables him to burn additional calories while allowing his body to recover from his workouts, unlike doing HIIT, which places a lot of stress on the nervous system.  I figured I’d like to test this, so I dropped by the gym after work and did 40 minutes of running on the treadmill at a comfortable pace.  As it was not as “exciting” as doing HIIT, to pass the time I listened to the fitcast.com interview with John Berardi and Tom Venuto.

All in all, a good day for me.  I was able to overcome the challenges in the office, and was able to do something I have not done in a while (steady-state cardio).  I hope you were all able to win today’s battles too!

I’m unstoppable!

4 thoughts on “Day 52: Back in the office

  1. Hi Ron,
    Wow, you are doing so well with your meals, and believe me, that is not an easy job. Congrats for organizing so well. You will reap great benefits that way for sure. Am so pleased to see that you are doing so well. Take care and keep it going.
    Lynda

  2. Thanks Lynda. Yes, the nutrition part is not easy at all! I believe, however, that it is a key component that prevented me from making significant progress before. I do slip up sometimes, but thankfully been able to get back and continue progressing.

Leave a Reply

