Day 40: Personal Bests

Day 40 of 84

Metabolic Surge: Strength and Recovery Phase, Day 4

What a great day at the gym! Today I did my second Strength Training session following the Metabolic Surge program. I worked on chest (BB bench press), back (deadlifts), shoulders (DB overhead press), biceps (BB curl), and triceps (close grip BB press). As recommended, I was to start with a weight that would challenge me, and so in every one of the exercises, I started with a weight that was near my max for the exercise before I started doing Surge.

In every one of the exercises, I was able to do the recommended reps on the first set. And in every one except for the DB overhead press, I was able to add weight until I was over what was my previous max (the only reason why I was not able to add weight to the DB overhead press is because the jump in weight for the dumbells was too big at 2.5 kg). Granted, I was doing inverted pyramids (6, 5, 4, 3 reps or 5, 4, 3 reps), instead of 3×8 or 3×10, but it’s still a extraordinary feeling for me to do 3 reps for exercises at weights I would not have even attempted 1 rep before. Needless to say, I finished the Strength Training session with a big smile on my face. I even did a little hop for joy after my last deadlift set! After Strength Training, I did set B of Flatten Your Abs Level 2 exercises.

Nutrition was on plan with 6 small balanced meals, tapering off my carbs toward the end of the day.

As I have learned today, keep challenging yourself, and find out just what you are capable of. You just might surprise yourself.

3 thoughts on “Day 40: Personal Bests

  1. Ron,

    thanks for your kind comments. I really appreciate all the support.

    I’ve been following your progress as well, and the changes in your body are amazing ! What are you doing to develop such massive traps ? They’re exploding in your back pics man.

    Keep up the good work,

    –Jay

  2. Thanks Jay! In the two or three months before I started following Metabolic Surge, I had been working on learning the power clean (and press). That must be it. I am so pleased that the results of my work there is beginning to show now that I’m getting leaner. My back was covered in a lot of fat when I started!

  3. I agree.
    theres deffinetely alot of improvement on the deffinition on your back-muscles.
    Strange how that works. Most of my progress happened in the front. Guess I still have to go quite a big with defining my own back muscles.
    You’re doing great ron! Thanks for participating in the push up-challenge frequently.

Leave a Reply

