Day 20: Need for Proper Exercise Form

Day 20 of 84

Metabolic Surge: Round 2, Phase 3, Day 1

Hello Shredders!  Hope your weekends are going well.

Today, I started eating starchy carbs again.  It really gives a boost of energy compared to when I was doing low-carb nutrition a few days ago.

I returned to the gym this morning for Muscle Rounds training.  All of the exercises today were for the lower body – quads and glutes, hamstrings, and calves.  I remembered that in my previous lower-body muscle rounds, I started with too heavy a weight with the squat and got pain my lower back just midway through the routine.  This time, I started with a somewhat lower weight and got to the last set before the pain became a bit too much.  By that time, I kept dropping the weight between the mini sets to keep me going while keeping as close to the tempo as possible, so I feel that I was still able to get enough cardio stress.

I love doing squats, but I need to review my form and research what I could be doing better with them.  I think at the start, my form is good, but it gets sloppier as I tire because of the quick tempo dictated by Muscle Rounds.  Until I master the proper technique, I will lower the weight some more .  I also know that I really need to strengthen my entire core to protect me during squats, so I am counting on my following the Firm and Flatten Your Abs program to do this for me.  I need to keep myself healthy by avoiding injury through proper form if I am to complete this mission.

The other exercises I did were mostly fine, as there were alternatives that didn’t stress my lower back as much.

In the afternoon, I took advantage of the fine, sunny weather (after having been cold over most of the week) and headed to the pool to do some laps.  I love swimming and I feel that it loosens my muscles after the stresses I placed on them over the past three weeks.  I was able to do a total of 30 laps (with breaks every 4 to 6 laps) of the 25-metre pool with a combination of breaststroke and crawl.

Oh, I finally finished reading Tom Venuto’s Burn the Fat, Feed the Muscle e-book yesterday, and am now devouring the audio lessons as well.  I like being able to put Tom’s voice in my head telling me what I should be doing to get me to my goals.  I guess I’m the type of person who learns better when there is a combination of reading and listening.

Till tomorrow, keep Shredding!

One thought on “Day 20: Need for Proper Exercise Form

Leave a Reply

