Day 13: Back To Shredding

Day 13 of 84

Metabolic Surge: Round 2, Phase 1, Day 1

Hello Shredders!

After last night’s reward meal and a good night’s sleep, I was ready to go back to the gym!  On the plate today was Fat Loss Circuit Training, but this time, with a twist called Jump Sets.  Instead of going back to the same resistance exercise after each 40-second cardio interval, I was to go back and forth between two different exercises.  Today the exercises paired were back (deadlifts, yeah!) and chest, then biceps and calves.

Also new for me was using a skipping rope as my cardio between weight sets.  It’s been a while since I’ve done any skipping, so I warmed up for my session by, how else, skipping rope!  At first, my technique wasn’t too good and I kept getting the rope caught under my feet.  In the middle of the first Jump Set, my calves were starting to get tired, and my shoulders as well (from the bench presses I used for chest).  Later on, however, I was able to find a comfortable technique and so didn’t hurt as much, but I was still catching my breath after every skipping segment!  I still did catch the rope a few times, but whenever this happened, I just tried to continue jumping even without the rope, until I could restart the rotation.  I wonder how boxers could do it so quickly and gracefully?  I’m sure with more practice I’ll be able to master it.

Today was a return to low-carb nutrition.  Not too much of a problem today as I still had food which I had prepared and kept in the fridge, but I would need to do more preparation shopping and cooking over the weekend to prepare for the week ahead.

Here is my log for today:

And here are my pics, taken just after my workout:

Front

Front

Back

Back

Side

Side

Till tomorrow, keep your eyes on the prize!

One thought on “Day 13: Back To Shredding

Leave a Reply

