Day 9: Tough Day at the Gym

Day 9 of 84

Metabolic Surge: Round 1, Phase 3, Day 2

Whew, these past two days were the toughest so far!

Nutrition was the easier part: I have now got a spreadsheet which helps me create my meal plans for the next day, using the foods which I find easiest to prepare, preferably in bulk.  Today I tried eating six meals instead of five, trying to space the meals as evenly as possible while minding my training time window.  I just have to follow through on a similar plan which I have for tomorrow.  I find that with nutrition, the hardest part is planning and preparing everything ahead of time so there is no question what to eat.  Once the preparation is done, it becomes a matter of just eating what has been planned before.

Now for the harder part: Muscle Rounds training has been very tough for me!  Everything seemed to grow much heavier sooner than I expected after the first few mini-sets, especially today when I had to do chest, back, shoulders, biceps, and triceps all in one training session.  After re-reading the notes by the author on this type of training, I was reassured that it can take a few times before one can gauge the amount of weight to use.  Now, I am not as dissapointed as I was when I left the gym.  I now just tell myself (as Tom Venuto wrote in BFFM) that today was not a failure, but just another result from which I have learned about myself and which I can use for my future training sessions.

By the way, I found a gym much closer to my apartment, which is where I trained today.  Unlike the gym I was using before, this one is not as busy even during the “rush hour” after work.  This would make it more feasible to perform the exercises on Metabolic Surge which require supersets or circuit training.  So I decided to sign up for the next two months to ensure that I can do my training in peace!  I also didn’t want to use my budget of 30 days/year of free overseas training with the other gym, because I didn’t want to be caught out without a gym to use before my mission is complete.

Here is my accountability log for today:

And here are my pics:

Front

Front

Back

Back

Side

Side

By the way, I was able to pick up my copy of Men’s Fitness Australia magazine!  I have not read a word of it, save for the article on Adam.

Till tomorrow, Shred on!

5 thoughts on “Day 9: Tough Day at the Gym

  1. Hi Ron, I found the same thing with Muscle Rounds, it does take a few sessions to get the right weight. Keep shredding mate and it will come to you, only a matter of time.
    Adam

  2. Hey Ron! Cool, you found a new gym too 🙂

    Would you be able to share the spreadsheet you have for creating meal plans? This is my main problem, so any help would be good.

    How are you finding the exercises in Metabolic Surge? I’m still tempted, although I think I’ll be waiting until Adam’s system is announced…

    Shred hard, dude!

  3. Hey Ron, you are doing great and O love your new log-sheet which you show us in your blog.
    I also have to design a new one…mine is not very well and I have difficulties to load it up.

    Keep up the great work.

    Juli

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Adam! Now that’s a mini-milestone for me, the first comment on my blog from my guru.

    Glad to know that it wasn’t just me that experienced it. I thought I was losing it bad back there at the gym last night.

  5. Pingback: Day 11: Double-Header Part 2 « My Transformation

Leave a Reply

