The Journey Begins

Today I was so excited, thinking about what to do as my workout. As per Adam’s recommendation, I purchased Nick Nilsson’s Metabolic Surge to get a nutrition and workout plan.

I had followed a low-carb diet during the day.

Unfortunately, yesterday, I already had a good whole-body workout, so I could not follow the recommended first day Back/Chest/Biceps workout, so instead I did some interval running, starting from where I’m staying (at an apartment just by the base of a bridge).
2 mins jog
1 min run
1 min walk
1 min jog
1 min run
1 min walk

I repeated the last three as best as I could until I completed a circuit around the jogging path beside the river, beside some cliffs, over the river across another bridge, into a botanical garden, into a wharf beside the city, then finally over the steel bridge back to where I started. This took me overall about 46 minutes.

One some run sections, I had stopped short of a minute, with some, I could not run (I had not yet caught up my breath) and had to continue jogging instead. It was very cold for me (apparent temp was 10.4 degC) and I had never ran outside at that temperature before (I come from a tropical country, and I am on the road with my job at the moment). About a third of the way through, I was already thinking of going back, but I decided to push on, partly because I was thinking of challenging myself, partly because the views were gorgeous! In the final kilometre, there was a steep climb to the big steel bridge, which happened to fall on my “jog” segment. By the time I got to the top, my quads were starting to cramp! I had to skip the run part and walk right after the climb, but when the next jog segment came, I was able to overcome the cramp and continue across the bridge and get back to my starting point.

Overall, a challenging workout!  I felt great afterwards!

My pics were taken right after my workout:

Front

Front

Back

Back

Side

Side

Tomorrow I will be starting Round 1 Phase 1. So maybe I’ll take 85 days instead of 84?

Leave a Reply

